continuing with building pcc on Debian..

Its been a long time since I last updated about my work on pcc. I contacted the Debian Developer who had filed an ITP for pcc. But he had told he was busy and will send some patches along with explanations to get pcc compile a ‘hello world’ program.

I was growing curious and had lot of time on hand to look around. So, I took the source rpms from the Downloads section.

Installed alien and rpm and made debs from them as described here.

But the rpm way looks like too much of work for now. So, I wrote a gdb command file with 100s of ‘s frame bt’ after setting args and breakpoints and running. Then I built the pcc from cvs and ran gdb with the command file. GDB promptly spewed out all the lines of code that were executed along with the requested information. But haven’t looked in the 1000s of lines of code that is traced by this command file yet. I hope to figure out the problem today before I fall asleep 😀

Leave a Reply

